Goat Cheese Quesadillas with Caramelized Onions & Fresh Basil


Before heading off to our Christmas party/gingerbread man-decorating-extravaganza, I wanted to jazz up our usual weekend lunch, so I came up with these quesadillas using things that were hanging out in our refrigerator. I’m obviously not the first to come up with this combination, but they were so light and tasty.

  • Spread a thin layer of goat cheese (I used a soft, spreadable variety) onto a flour tortilla.
  • In a frying pan, heat a small amount of olive oil and throw in some sliced onion. Cook, stirring frequently over low heat until light brown.
  • Remove onion slices and place them on the spread goat cheese. Chop up some fresh basil and sprinkle on top, then cover with a second tortilla. Cook in the same pan that you cooked the onions in, a few minutes per side.
    2 thoughts on “Goat Cheese Quesadillas with Caramelized Onions & Fresh Basil

    1. So funny… I was looking on foodgawker and clicked this since they looked delicious – low and behold it’s your blog! I don’t know how I missed this one on my ‘reader’.

    Leave a Reply

    