Sizzling Hot Shrimp


You can control the amount of chili that you add to this dish, but we recommend adding enough to make you sweat. In this cold weather, it feels better. This dish is based on a recipe for shrimp pil-pil that I recently came across in a Rachael Ray Magazine. It originates from Spain where it’s eaten as a fiery tapas dish.

1/2 lb. of shrimp, shells removed (tails left intact), and de-veined
1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil
2 cloves of garlic, thinly sliced
1/2 tsp. crushed red pepper (or more to taste)
1/2 tsp. paprika (preferably smoked)
1/2 a chipotle pepper in adobo sauce, chopped
salt
about 1 TBS. chopped fresh parsley.

  • In a skillet, heat the olive oil over medium-high heat. Add the garlic, crushed red pepper, paprika, and chipotle pepper and cook for about 30 seconds, stirring frequently.
  • Season the shrimp with salt. Add to the skillet and cook until done, about 1-2 minutes. Remove from heat and stir in the chopped parsley.
  • Serve in bowls, along with some crusty bread and cold beer. Serves 2.
3 thoughts on “Sizzling Hot Shrimp

  1. I just saw your comment on my sizzling hot shrimp post. I’m a big fan of your blog, just didn’t realize this recipe was on this one too. I’ll update the link. Take care!

    -Lauren

    • Thanks so much for updating the link! Yeah, I imported all my posts over when I switched to WordPress. I enjoy your blog as well; I just haven’t been as good about commenting lately 🙂

Leave a Reply

