Kiss Me, I’m Irish


Actually I have only a small fraction of Irish in me, but I love Irish Soda Bread and I fondly remember eating my Mom’s every year on St. Patrick’s Day and being pinched by my little brother if I forgot to wear green. This Irish Soda Bread is spiked with peppercorns for a spicy variation. This and a beer is the extent of my St. Patrick’s Day. I haven’t even seen a single shamrock in Japan today! This recipe is sort of a combination of two: one from epicurious and another from this blog. I had to find a recipe that doesn’t use buttermilk, so ended up using recipes that call for sour cream and substituting Japanese yogurt instead. Ah, the joys of shopping in Japan.

2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp. salt
2 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. baking soda
1/2 TBS. sugar
1 TBS. black peppercorns
8 oz. plain yogurt (or sour cream)
1/4 cup 1% milk
1 TBS. butter, melted

  • Preheat oven to 375 degrees (190 C). Grease a baking sheet and set aside.
  • In a bowl, combine the flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda, sugar and peppercorns.
  • Add the yogurt and combine.
  • Add the milk and stir just until dough is evenly moistened but still lumpy.
  • Form dough into a ball and shape into a domed 6-inch round on baking sheet. Cut a 1/2-inch-deep X on top of the loaf with a sharp knife, then brush with butter.
  • Bake for 40-45 minutes or until top is brown and bottom of loaf sounds hollow when tapped. Cool before slicing.

    One thought on “Kiss Me, I’m Irish

    Leave a Reply

    