Barbequed Trout with Herbs & Potatoes


When I was a little girl, I refused to eat seafood. It’s really unfortunate because I must have missed out on a lot of delicious experiences. For example, in Felton, a small town outside of Santa Cruz, there is a restaurant called The Trout Farm Inn where you can C.Y.O.T. (catch your own trout) in the pond before the chef prepares it for you. All those years my family enjoyed the taste of the freshly caught fish, while I enjoyed chicken or something that was “safe” to me at the time. Well, tonight I realized what I’d been missing. My Mom prepared (and Dad grilled) the simplest and most delicious trout — seasoned with olive oil, salt, pepper, mint, garlic chives (also known as Chinese chives), and garlic chive-blossoms. Along with sautéed potatoes from our local farmer, a green salad with radishes and a vinaigrette, and a dry chardonnay, this meal was a gorgeous one.

Place the butterflied trout skin-side down and drizzle with olive oil. Season with salt, pepper, chopped mint, chopped garlic chives, and garlic chive blossoms. If you’re my Dad, gently use your finger to make one of the trout’s mouths say something vulgar.


Heat your grill. Medium heat is best so the fish is cooked through without burning the skin. Place the fish skin-side down on the grill and close the lid. Cook for about 10 minutes.


Serve with locally grown potatoes sautéed in a skillet with olive oil until they’re brown and crispy in spots.

One thought on “Barbequed Trout with Herbs & Potatoes

  1. This looks awesome! You’ve reminded me of my younger years when my parents often prepared whole fish on the grill. While I could stomach the sight of him preparing the poor fish, he’d get my younger siblings to laugh by making the fish talk and moving its mouth. LOL. The way you’ve simply prepared this looks and sounds delicious!

Leave a Reply

