Deviled Eggs


I needed an easy appetizer for our Halloween party and thought that Deviled eggs were the obvious choice! If I had had more time, I would have decorated the eggs like little devil faces using small pieces of bell pepper and olives for horns, eyes, mouths, and beards. That’s what my brother and I did once when we were kids. But alas I ran out of time, because I had to rush to get into my geisha costume before everyone arrived! Instead I finished off my deviled eggs the traditional way with a sprinkling of paprika. There are so many ways to make deviled eggs, but this is my (not-so-secret-anymore) recipe that includes a bit of cumin for spice and garlic for kick (and since it was Halloween, I guess I should say to ward off those vampires)!

As an appetizer for 10:

10 hardboiled eggs
about 5 spoonfuls mayo (or to taste)
about 3 spoonfuls Dijon mustard (or to taste)
1 clove of garlic, minced
a small handful of fresh parsley, minced
cumin
Tabasco (or your favorite hot sauce)
salt & pepper
pieces of red bell pepper and black olives for making “devil faces” OR paprika

  • Hard-boil the eggs by gently submerging them into boiling water. Simmer for 12-14 minutes. Rinse under cold water, and gently peel the eggs.
  • Cut the eggs in half lengthwise and spoon out the yolks into a bowl. Place the white halves on a serving platter and set aside.
  • To the yolks, add the mayo, mustard, garlic, parsley, cumin, Tabasco, salt and pepper. Taste and adjust seasonings to your liking.
  • Spoon the filling back into the whites.
  • If feeling artistic, decorate like devil faces, or just sprinkle with paprika and serve immediately. You can cover and chill overnight before serving.

    East Meets West
    One thought on “Deviled Eggs

    Leave a Reply

    