Simple Pan-Roasted Pork Loin Chops


That is one beautiful piece of meat, isn’t it? It’s from that new charcuterie shop in town that I mentioned in the last post. The owner knows our family now. We’re there on on a weekly basis to pick out something special for dinner, as well as some fun impulse buys like beef jerky, smokey beef sticks, or perro calientes (yes, those would be hot dogs). Last week they had these beautiful thick-cut pork loin chops that were calling out for a simple preparation so that they could take center stage. Just a quick marinade of olive oil, fresh chopped rosemary from the garden, garlic, salt, and pepper readied them for a sear in a hot skillet before finishing up in the oven.

At our natural foods store across the parking lot, we found some bunches of tender asparagus that we roasted alongside the pork chops, and we made some rice pilaf to round out the meal.

Note that this recipe is more a method than an exact recipe, since the timing will depend on the thickness of your pork chops.  Have a reliable meat thermometer handy. These were definitely some of the thickest we had ever eaten, but this method produces pork chops that are nice and caramelized outside and still moist inside.

Pan-Roasted Pork Loin Chops with Rosemary

2 thick-cut pork loin chops
4 TBS. extra virgin olive oil, divided
fresh rosemary, chopped (approximately 1 large sprig)
2 cloves garlic, roughly chopped
kosher salt
freshly found black pepper

  • Take the pork chops out of the refrigerator so that they can come to room temp before cooking. Place in a small baking dish (or a ziplock bag) with 2 TBS. of the olive oil, some chopped fresh rosemary, some roughly chopped garlic, salt, and pepper. Rub the seasoned oil all over the pork chops. Let sit (at room temp) for at least 30 min.
  • Meanwhile, preheat your oven to 375 degrees.
  • Heat the remaining 2 TBS. olive oil in an oven-proof skillet over medium high heat. When nice and hot, add the pork chops and sear for 3-4 minutes. Flip pork chops and sear on the other side for another 3-4 minutes. Transfer pan to the oven and bake, uncovered, until a (reliable) meat reads 160 degrees, or the meat juices run clear, 12-15 minutes for very thick pork chops (for thinner pork chops, begin checking after 6-9 minutes). Transfer to a plate and let rest for a couple minutes before digging in.
44 thoughts on “Simple Pan-Roasted Pork Loin Chops

  1. Made these last night and they were a huge hit in my home. The rosemary was delicious on the chops and searing them and then baking them locked in the moistness. I will definitely make these again.

    • I use Kosher salt for everything. Never said it was a Kosher recipe! 😉 Here is a definition:
      The term “kosher salt” derives not from its being made in accordance with the guidelines for kosher foods as written in the Torah (nearly all salt is kosher, including ordinary table salt), but rather due to its use in making meats kosher by removing surface blood. One salt manufacturer considers the term ambiguous, and distinguishes between “kosher certified salt” and “koshering salt”. “Koshering salt” has the “small, flake-like form” useful in treating meat. “Kosher certified salt” is salt that has been certified as such by an appropriate religious body.

      Thanks for stopping by.

  2. I had some lovely loin chops and wasn’t sure how best to cook them because they were so thick, found your recipe which sounded delicious and it was! Thanks very much, I will be trying again.

  3. we have all come a long way when we go to our notebook computers and …voila…it’s dinner.

    Thanks for this great recipe and simple too!

    • Just enough to lightly season both sides of your chops (depends on how big their surface area is) – if you love rosemary, add more. If you want it to be more subtle, add less. For 2 pork chops I think I used 1 sprig, chopped.

  4. I’m cooking these as we speak. Didn’t know whether to bake covered or uncovered so I’m doing it uncovered. Smells awful good and can’t wait to eat them.

  5. Just used this recipe for some lovely pork loin chops we got from a local butcher. Really good technique, though I warn that 12-15 minutes will be WAY too long for most cuts. Ours were about an inch to an inch and a half thick and after 9 minutes in the oven they bordered on overdone. (My thermometer was not working). But the flavor was still great and the carmelization/crust was amazing.

  6. Thanks Betsy! As you can see from the pictures, these were the thickest chops we’d every bought; that’s why I specified 12-15 min. “for very thick pork chops.” It’s probably best to rely on a meat thermometer, since I wrote this more as a method than an exact recipe. I did edit the recipe and added that for thinner pork chops, it’s best to check long before 12 minutes. Thanks.

    • Then you have a more simple pork chop, which is also fine. Do you have thyme? Or Sage? Either of those would add a nice flavor.

  7. Ok, my husband thanks you and so do I! WThank you so much.as delish and better then going out.I had sweet potato, asparagus and slice baked potatoes with the same mix on the potatoes,,,,,,,soooo good.loved the pork loin chops!!!

  8. Hmm it looks like your blog ate my first comment (it was extremely long)
    so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly
    enjoying your blog. I too am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any tips and hints for newbie blog writers? I’d
    genuinely appreciate it.

  9. I have just picked up some loin chops at the market. Been craving some good chops and came across your recipe. Excited to make them tomorrow. The chops I got aren’t nearly 1 1/2″ thick so I will rely on my meat thermometer….probably will be under 9 minutes ;D. But I will be dreaming of my dinner tomorrow night for sure! Thanks! I will be back in touch with you after I make them. Thank you also for being so specific about using dried rosemary and keeping them uncovered when baking. The more specific the better for me..not an expert cook by any means!

    • Thanks, please let me know how they turn out! Yes, definitely rely on a meat thermometer. The chops we used were definitely on the thick side so I wouldn’t want yours to get overcooked.

  10. Just the kind of simple recipe I was looking for!
    Two clarifications – 1. Can I use sea salt instead of kosher? 2. Would there be a significant difference if I omit the rosemary?
    Let me know! Thanks heaps 🙂

    • Yes sea salt is fine.

      Feel free to omit or substitute any herbs you like. If you want a plainer pork chop, only season with salt & pepper.

  11. So moist and tender! I placed sliced yellow squash tossed with a little olive oil in the iron skillet with the chops. We eat sodium free and it was still delicious. Thank you!

  12. Pingback: Easy Paleo Pork Chop Marinade | Paleo Recipes

Leave a Reply

