Meyer Lemon Sugar Cookies


Every year around this time, our meyer lemon tree in the front yard becomes too full with lemons to ignore. We use them in savory dishes like Red Trout Fillets with Meyer Lemon and in baked goods like lemon bars. Next year I’d love to try making preserved meyer lemons, so we can enjoy them long after their season has ended.

This lemon-orange (or mandarin) hybrid is a little sweeter than a regular lemon, and I prefer my lemon bars to be a little more tart to contrast the sweetness of the shortbread. So this year I thought ‘d try a meyer lemon sugar cookie instead. Sugar cookies are already nice and sweet, so I thought the meyer lemon zest and juice might be the perfect addition. I was right. I’d never made drop-sugar cookies before, only the cut-out kind, so I had to do some recipe googling before diving in. I stumbled upon a blog called Tall Grass Kitchen that had a recipe for meyer lemon sugar cookies. When I read the introduction to the recipe, I saw that I wasn’t alone in thinking that lemon bars are better suited for regular lemons!

These cookies are cake-y and crumbly, almost scone-like. They have a sprinkling of meyer lemon sugar on top that gives them that distinctive glimmer that makes sugar cookies so appealing. If I make them again, I’ll probably form the dough into balls and roll them in the sugar (like I do with Snickerdoodles) instead of sprinkling on top, since a lot of that precious sugar fell off when I stored the cookies. Also, the recipe didn’t specify how many it made, but I ended up with 2 dozen cookies. I might have made them a little bigger too, because they baked for 12-15 minutes instead of 9-12. The night I made these, Levi had gone to bed pretty easily, I poured myself a glass of white wine, and enjoyed the peace and quiet (and time!) to bake; the perfect end to the day, and of our tree’s bounty.


Meyer Lemon Sugar Cookies

(From Tall Grass Kitchen)

1 1/4 cups sugar, plus 3 TBS.
zest of two Meyer lemons (about 2 TBS.)
2 sticks butter (1 cup), softened
3 egg yolks
1/3 cup Meyer lemon juice
1 tsp. vanilla
2 3/4 cup flour
1/2 tsp. salt
2 1/4 tsp. baking powder

  • Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Line two baking sheet with parchment paper.
  • In a food processor, combine all of the sugar and the lemon zest. Process until combined. It will smell lovely. Reserve 3 TBS. of the lemon-sugar and set side for sprinkling on top of the cookies later.
  • In a large bowl, cream together the butter and the remaining 1 1/4 cups sugar until light and fluffy. Add eggs and beat well to incorporate. Add the lemon juice and vanilla. Mix until combined.
  • In a medium bowl, use a whisk to mix together the flour, salt, and baking powder. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and stir until combined.
  • Drop heaping Tablespoonfuls of dough onto lined baking sheets. Sprinkle tops of cookies with the reserved lemon-sugar. Bake for 12-15 minutes, switching baking sheets halfway through. They’re done when they’re just turning golden on the bottoms. Transfer cookies to a rack to cool completely. Makes 2 dozen.

6 thoughts on “Meyer Lemon Sugar Cookies

  1. I saw this post tonight and just had to make them…they looked like they’d be a perfect spring dessert. Result? Absolutely delicious. Great recipe!

    • Yay! So glad you enjoyed them. I’ll definitely be making them again. Did you roll them in the sugar like I said I wished I’d done? Or did you sprinkle them?

Leave a Reply

