Chocolate Chip & Candied Ginger Muffins


Melty chocolate chips and spicy little bursts of candied ginger are a match made in muffin heaven, unless you’re Dustin (who isn’t the biggest ginger fan). Oh well. More for me. Today’s slightly overcast weather inspired me to take on a new baking project, and I had chocolate on the brain, as well as some candied ginger to use up. Trader Joe’s sells conveniently resealable bags of crystalized candied ginger that’s coated in sugar. In my opinion it’s a little too strong to eat by itself, but when finely chopped, it worked perfectly in this recipe. Try these muffins for a quick chocolate fix in the morning (or a decadent snack), and make sure you eat them while they’re still warm so the chocolate chips are still gooey. I found the recipe on Baking Bites, and made only a couple changes (which are marked with asterisks below).

2 1/2 cups all purpose flour
1 cup plus 2 TBS sugar
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp ground ginger*
1 cup oats**
6 TBS butter, melted and cooled
1 large egg
3/4 cup buttermilk***
1/2 cup milk
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups chocolate chips, dark or semisweet
3/4 cup candied ginger, finely chopped

* I didn’t have any ground ginger, so I used ground nutmeg
** not in the original recipe,  but I wanted to throw some in there!
*** I also didn’t have any buttermilk, so I used plain yogurt

  • Preheat oven to 375. Line a muffin pan with paper liners (I simply buttered my silicone muffin pan).
  • In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt, ground nutmeg, and oats.
  • In a medium bowl, whisk together melted butter, egg, yogurt, milk and vanilla extract until smooth. Pour into dry ingredients and stir just until no streaks of flour remain. Stir in chocolate chips and candied ginger.
  • Divide batter into prepared muffin pan, overfilling each muffin cup so that the batter slightly rises above the top of the pan.
  • Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until muffins are lightly browned and a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.
  • Cool on a wire rack. Serve slightly warm. Makes 12 muffins.

16 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip & Candied Ginger Muffins

  1. I don’t know If I said it already but …I’m so glad I found this site…Keep up the good work I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

  2. I used cardamom instead of ground ginger or nutmeg and did not use oats (and also replaced buttermilk for milk plus vinegar). They were awesome! Thanks for the recipe!

  3. Pingback: What do you want to make with Candied Ginger? « Try It You Might Like It

  4. These were amazing! I used a combo of white, wheat and oat flour and snuck in some flaxseed meal. I also used half white and half brown sugar because I didn’t have enough white. I added a drop or two of orange oil and used mini chocolate chips. Even with the subs, these came out so fantastic, and the chocolate chips just make this even more drool-worthy

Leave a comment