Spicy Tomato Soup


The bad news: I recently got the cold that’s been going around our English classes. The good news: When I mentioned that I was craving something spicy for dinner, Dustin found this recipe for spicy tomato soup on Epicurious while I was at class, and made it for me when I got home. It was delicious and comforting, especially served with some classic BLT sandwiches. And some crunchy garlicky croutons I’d made the day before were just calling out to be soup toppers.

2 (400g or 14 oz) cans of diced tomatoes, in juice
1 large onion, coarsely chopped

1 clove garlic, chopped
2 chipotle peppers in adobo sauce, chopped
(original recipe calls for 1 tsp. chopped fresh jalapeños with seeds, but we can’t get them here)
2 tsp. finely chopped peeled fresh ginger
3 TBS. olive oil
1/2 tsp. ground cumin
2 1/4 cups reduced-sodium chicken broth
1 TBS. sugar, or to taste
2 tsp. salt, or to taste

  • Cook onion, garlic, chipotle, and ginger in oil in a 4- to 5-quart heavy nonreactive pot over moderate heat, stirring frequently, until onion is softened, about 8 minutes.
  • Add cumin and cook, stirring, 1 minute.
  • Stir in canned tomatoes, broth, 1 tablespoon sugar, and 2 teaspoons salt and simmer, uncovered, stirring occasionally, 20 minutes.
  • Working in a couple batches, blend soup in blender until smooth (use caution when blending hot liquids).
  • Stir in sugar and salt to taste. Reheat in cleaned saucepan if necessary.

    4 thoughts on “Spicy Tomato Soup

    1. i love tomato soup 🙂 this sounds great but i think i prefer the creamy tomato basil soup. i noticed you use a lot of chipotle peppers in your cooking – your pantry must be stocked w/them! 🙂

    2. we can’t get fresh chili peppers here, so whatever I can find at the import store I tend to use. no, I just had one can and used it in 3 recipes now 🙂

    Leave a comment